3812 由來

 

人們經常問 3812 是什麼意思?這個名字誕生於 2010 年的法國,當聯合創辦人許劍龍和 Mark Peaker 與友人抵達阿爾卑斯山莎慕尼(Chamonix)滑雪,站在海拔 3812 米高的白色山谷(Vallée Blanche)上,俯瞰著陡斜的雪山,欣賞著白朗峰(Mont Blanc)的壯麗景致,在這巍峨雪嶺上滑雪,於白愷愷的雪地遊轉,就像藝術家剎那的筆觸,用色彩在畫布上留痕,激發了我們的熱情與想象力。頃刻之間,3812 的意念由是誕生,以之向此靈感的誕生及攻克的挑戰致敬。

 

 

3812 畫廊

 

3812 畫廊於 2011 年在香港成立,公認為當地首屈一指的專營中國當代藝術的畫廊。

 

2018 年是 3812 畫廊發展史中的重要一年。11 月,3812 坐落於倫敦聖詹姆斯區的畫廊隆重開幕,標誌著 3812 畫廊進軍國際的發展宏圖。

 

3812 畫廊致力以「東方根性,當代表現」的精神,推動中國當代藝術的發展以及文化交流。我們竭力透過各種精心策劃的藝術項目為藝術家、學術界人士、收藏家以及公眾創造一個國際交流的平台。我們深信,若要進一步提高觀眾對於中國當代藝術的理解和認受性,這種以中國文化交流為核心的平台是不可或缺的。

  • 聯合創辦人

    聯合創辦人

    許劍龍先生

    聯合創辦人及主席

    許劍龍為香港著名文化企業家、藝術顧問、策展人以及收藏家,在過去多年一直致力推動中國當代藝術發展,尤以推動水墨藝術的市場發展為人熟悉。

    許劍龍旗下的藝術企業經營模式既廣且深,包括於倫敦及香港成立3812畫廊,並於2018年宣佈創辦全球首個以水墨藝術為主題的文化品牌——水墨現場(INK NOW),建構一個綜合性、開放型、跨地域、多功能的水墨藝術平台,融合學術與商業,並以「東方根性,當代表現」為立足點,把屬於華語文化圈的水墨推向國際。 許劍龍先生於2019年1月成功在台北舉行首屆水墨現場大型藝術展博會,其策展及空間設計榮獲2019年台 灣室內設計大獎展覽空間設計獎。同年11月,其帶領水墨現場進駐上海,聯手上海蘇寧藝術館共同舉辦「水問」當代水墨展覽及國際論壇,集結11位藝術家及多位國際知名學者參與。此外,許劍龍先生也曾於2011至2017年擔任香港典亞藝博的聯席主席及總監,並在2015年於香港推出全球首個當代水墨藝術展博會「水墨藝博」,近年又獲得何超瓊女士委任成為澳門路氹美獅美高梅項目的藝術顧問及策展人,建構集團的「主席典藏」等大型國際藝術項目。

  • Mark Peaker 先生 聯合創辦人及行政總裁 自2001年從多元的國際金融行業退休以來,Mark與許劍龍聯合創辦了香港首屈一指的當代藝術畫廊3812畫廊。 Mark是香港註冊慈善組織香港小莎翁的主席,此組織致力於透過運用戲劇促進兒童的教育和發展。此外,他曾是香港歷史最悠久的慈善組織之一香港保護兒童會的前籌款委員會副主席。Mark亦是非牟利機構SKETCH HONG KONG的創始成員,此機構旨在幫助藝術人才的發展及香港文化古跡的保育推廣。他曾是《Tatler》雜誌的美食評論家,亦是一位兼職戲劇演員,曾參與香港的多個作品。同時,他也是一位狂熱的滑雪愛好者、高爾夫球手及充滿熱情的家廚。

    Mark Peaker 先生

    聯合創辦人及行政總裁

    自2001年從多元的國際金融行業退休以來,Mark與許劍龍聯合創辦了香港首屈一指的當代藝術畫廊3812畫廊。

    Mark是香港註冊慈善組織香港小莎翁的主席,此組織致力於透過運用戲劇促進兒童的教育和發展。此外,他曾是香港歷史最悠久的慈善組織之一香港保護兒童會的前籌款委員會副主席。Mark亦是非牟利機構SKETCH HONG KONG的創始成員,此機構旨在幫助藝術人才的發展及香港文化古跡的保育推廣。他曾是《Tatler》雜誌的美食評論家,亦是一位兼職戲劇演員,曾參與香港的多個作品。同時,他也是一位狂熱的滑雪愛好者、高爾夫球手及充滿熱情的家廚。

THE NAME

 

People often ask what 3812 means? The name was born in 2010 in the French Alps of Chamonix when founders Calvin Hui and Mark Peaker joined friends to ski the infamous La Vallée Blanche offpiste run. La Vallée Blanche route starts atop the Aiguille du Midi where the treacherous 'arête' ridge (3,812m) must be navigated. The descent that day, under the clear blue skies and towering peaks of Mont Blanc, as we carved our turns in the white powder of La Mer de Glace inspired our passion and imagination. From this inspiration and in homage to the challenges overcome, our name was decided and 3812 Gallery was born.

 

THE GALLERY

 

Established in Hong Kong in 2011, 3812 Gallery is recognised as the city's foremost gallery dealing in Chinese contemporary art. Launching 3812 Gallery firmly onto the international stage, in 2018 we opened the new flagship space, 3812 Gallery London, in the exclusive St James's arts district.

3812 Gallery is dedicated to fostering cultural understanding of Chinese contemporary art with "Eastern Origin and Contemporary Expression". We strive for establishing international dialogue and exchanges by uniting artists, academics, collectors and the general public through our thoughtfully curated art programme. We believe that this sharing of cultural identity is essential in the understanding and appreciation of Chinese contemporary art.

 
  • The Founders

    The Founders

    Mr. Calvin Hui

    Co-founder and Chairman

    Calvin Hui is an acclaimed cultural entrepreneur, art advisor, collector and curator based in Hong Kong. Recognised as one of the leading figures in the local art scene, he has been active in promoting modern and contemporary Chinese art over the years, with a focus on promoting ink art.

     

    Hui’s art business has been expanding rapidly and internationally in recent years: he founded 3812 Galleries in Hong Kong in 2011 and expanded to London in 2018; appointed as the Co-Chairman and Director of FINE ART ASIA from 2011 to 2017 and was the Founder and Director of INK ASIA from 2015 to 2017. Hui was also being appointed by Ms. Pansy Ho, Co-chairperson of MGM China Holding as the art consultant and curator for building the Chairman’s Collection for the MGM Cotai project, which aims to enrich the MGM Cotai Art Collection. In 2018, Hui announced the establishment of INK NOW, the world’s first cultural brand specialising in the promotion of contemporary ink art and had organised the first INK NOW Art Expo in January 2019 in Taipei, which was awarded “The Twelfth Taiwan Interior Design Award - The TID Award of Public Space”. In November 2019, Hui launched INK NOW Shanghai collaborating with Suning Art Museum to co-present Inquiry on Water exhibition and the first international ink art symposium. Following the notion “Eastern Origin in Contemporary Expression”, he aspires to raise international attention to Chinese ink art by grounding it in academic research and market insights.

     

    In 2013, Calvin, together with cultural entrepreneur Adrian Cheng, co-founded various not-for-profit initiatives such as Arts in Heritage Research (AHR) and SKETCH HONG KONG which aims to cultivate sustainable growth and wider awareness of Hong Kong’s arts and heritage in a regional and global context.

  • Mr. Mark Peaker Co-founder and CEO Since retiring from a diversified international career in finance in 2001, Mark co-founded 3812...
    Mr. Mark Peaker 
    Co-founder and CEO

    Since retiring from a diversified international career in finance in 2001, Mark co-founded 3812 Gallery with Calvin Hui, one of the leading contemporary galleries in Hong Kong. Mark is the Chairman of Shakespeare 4 All, an NGO focused on using theatre for the benefit of children's education and development. In addition, Mark was a past Vice-Chairman of fundraising for the Hong Kong Society for the Protection of Children, one of Hong Kong's oldest charities. He is also a Founding Member of SKETCH HONG KONG, an NGO created to assist in the development of artistic talent and promotion of preservation of cultural heritage of Hong Kong. His passion for fine wine and dining led him to be a regular fine dining reviewer for Tatler and a part-time thespian, having appeared in various works in Hong Kong. Mark is an avid skier, an unexceptional golfer and a passionate home chef.